Installing Windows Vista RC2

4 10 2006

I just installed Windows Vista RC2 and hit some bumps.   But I’m here now.  Just a couple of hints for Googlers who might be having problems.

I got a Dell XPS brand new, so I decided to install Windows Vista RC2.  Low and behold, I immediately get a blue screen before I can even copy a single file from the DVD.

Problem: Blue Screen with STOP 0x000000E1 (WORKER_THREAD_RETURNED_AT_BAD_IRQL)

This happens almost after I select the “Custom Install” button.

Solution: Disable SATA RAID.  In fact, disable all raid.  Just set your drives to normal ATA or SATA.

Problem: Unable to restore files backed up with Windows XP backup (*.bkf)

Solution: Grab your XP CD and copy the following files (all in I386):

NTBACKUP.EX_
NTMSAPI.DL_
VSSAPI.DL_

Open a Vista command prompt and navigate to wherever your copied the files.  At the command prompt, do:

expand NTBACKUP.EX_ NTBACKUP.EXE
expand NTMSAPI.DL_ NTMSAPI.DLL
expand VSSAPI.DL_ VSSAPI.DLL

Now, you can launch NTBACKUP.EXE from that location and it should be able to restore your XP built-in backup created files.

Overall, Vista is working great.  I really like this new OS.  So far, it seems to have security in mind with all the nice locked down settings that don’t make you feel like you are in jail.  Try it and you’ll know what I mean. Go to http://www.microsoft.com/windowsvista

Please drop a comment with your experience with Vista.  This may be the first operating system I actually buy off the shelf (when it becomes available anyway).

Actions

Information

9 responses

29 01 2007
chris

thanks for the raid tip, i was getting the same blue screens on my dell, solution worked, great fix

29 01 2007
obijuan

No problem – glad it helped!

8 02 2007
Beetle

The raid tip solved my problem, thanks for the solution. I have bookmarked you site.

8 02 2007
obijuan

Glad it helped you!

11 02 2007
Dallas

I am getting that same stop error with a new Dell XPS system. When I change the SATA RAID from “RAID ON” to “RAID Autodetect/ATA” and then reboot there is a different STOP error while booting right after making that change. Did you encounter this at all?

11 02 2007
obijuan

Sorry Dallas, after I changed my RAID to disable (you may want to change to disable instead of autodetect), the install went without a hitch. There may be some other device that Vista can’t load drivers for that’s causing the blue screen.

1 04 2007
montmike

Vista upgrade has killed my PC, blue screen error stop, microsofts design team for Vista is unable to figure it out, but they are trying, I guess..

19 06 2008
Ursula

Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

cheers, Ursula.

12 03 2009
Ryan

Huge Help! Thanks a ton, I was getting a blue screen everytime I tried to install Vista x64 on my Dell XPS. It was driving me crazy and you gave me a solution that worked, which is hard to find now-a-days!

Leave a Reply

